ADVERTISEMENT

Memory bank: Tulane at Alex Box Stadium in 1986 regional

Guerry Smith

Jun 20, 2001
Tulane's appearance at Alex Box Stadium tonight against UNC Wilmington brings back pleasant memories for me.

This is the seventh time the Green Wave has played a regional in Baton Rouge, but the only one I attended was the first one in 1986, right after I graduated from high school in New Orleans. I had been attending Tulane games since 1980, getting into all of them free because my father was on the faculty (well, sort of), and in those days I just needed to show his card to gain admittance. From 1981 to 1986 I went to almost every home game for at least a few innings, going straight from school to the stadium during the week (single games started at 2, doubleheaders started at 1). I was at all three of Tulane's 1982 regional games at UNO--the first one when the Wave gave up back-to-back homers to Augie Schmidt and Brian Devalk leading off the ninth to lose by 2, the easy win over Jackson State the next day and the rematch with UNO when Tulane tied it in the top of the ninth but had the go-ahead run thrown out by a perfect relay at the plate, then watched as a UNO scored the winning run on a balk in the bottom of the 9th.

Four years later, in 1986, Joe Brockhoff had his best team. The pitching was not great, but the hitting was terrific, and I knew Tulane had a chance to make a deep run as LSU played host to a regional for the first time in school history. It was a six-team regional, and Tulane was seeded third behind LSU and Oklahoma, with La Tech, Eastern Kentucky and a team I don't remember rounding out the field.

My mother and I got lost in Baton Rouge on the way to the opener against La Tech (we had never been to Alex Box), and by the time we arrived, Tulane was already trailing in a game it never led, falling 7-5.